Nepal Monitor: The National Online Journal: <br /> Print This
Nepal Monitor: The National Online Journal

Who Are Contesting in CA Elections of Nepal?

Political parties and names of all candidates contesting under the PR and FPTP systems in Nepal's CA election of April 10, 2008.

>> List of registered political parties for Constituent Assembly election (Spreadsheet)
>> List of candidates under the PR and FPTP system (Spreadsheet)


The Constituent Assembly Election, slated for April 10, is just about 10 days away.

The political environment has not improved dramatically, actually campaign violence is on the rise. Political diatribe, accusations and counter-accusations, particularly between the Maoists and UML (Communist Party of Nepal-- United Marxist-Lenist) and to some extent Nepali Congress (NC) have come to dominate the daily headlines. Still, the political mood is fixed on elections. Now it looks likely that the elections will be held, after two postponements in the past.

The historic election is being held in an effort to help the country write its Constitution by the elected representatives of the people (as opposed to royal decree in the past).

Many hope that the CA elections will help Nepal restructure the nation according to the aspirations of the People's movement of April 2006. It is also hoped that CA will help decide the future of monarchy, ensure democratic rule of law, enable proportional representation in all the bodies of state, institutionalize the people's sovereignty and create an atmosphere for all the citizens to exercise equal rights.

According to the Election Commission, there were 74 political parties registered to contest the elections, of which 54 are actually contesting the polls. A total of 5,998 candidates have registered to contest the 601-member CA. Out of that total number, 3059 are women and 2,939 are men. The 54 political parties (with a total of 5962 candidates) are contesting for 335 seats under the Proportional Representation (PR) system allotted under the PR system. They represent Madhesis (some 1,918), Janajatis (some 2,137), Dalits (some 679), people from backward regions (some 183), and other groups (some 1,750).

Some 3,955 candidates from 54 parties are contesting under the First Past the Post (FPTP) electoral system for 240 seats. They include some 367 women and 3,582 men as well as some independents.

Not all political parties have fielded candidates for all seats under the PR and FPTP system. Only seven political parties have fielded for all the 601 seats. These parties are Nepali Congress, CPN (UML), CPN (Maoist), Rastriya Prajatantra Party, People´s Front Nepal, National People´s Front and CPN (Unified). Several regional parties have fielded no more than 100 candidates. Such parties include Madhesi People´s Rights Forum (MPRF), Terai-Madhes Democratic Party (TMDP) and Sadbhavana Party (SP).

>> List of registered political parties for Constituent Assembly election (Spreadsheet)
>> List of candidates under the PR and FPTP system (Spreadsheet)


Posted by Editor on March 31, 2008 01:13 AM